University of Southern California

Marshall Honors Faculty Members for Outstanding Achievements
Focuses on Excellence in Teaching, Research, Leadership and Community
May 14, 2012 • by News at Marshall

Eleven faculty members were honored at the annual USC Marshall Faculty Awards event on May 3. Professors were recognized for their achievements in the categories of teaching, research, leadership, mentoring and community.

Evan C. Thompson Teaching and Learning Innovation Award
This award recognizes individuals who are instrumental in developing new and innovative courses or course materials and demonstrating a commitment to their students’ learning and success. The 2012 awardees are: Arif Ansari, associate professor of clinical information and operations management; Omar El Sawy, professor of information and operations management and Kathleen Allen, professor of clinical entrepreneurship, Lloyd Greif Center for Entrepreneurial Studies.

Evan C. Thompson Award for Mentoring and Leadership
The Evan C. Thompson Faculty Mentoring and Leadership Awards are given to faculty members who have a strong commitment and devotion to teaching-related mentoring activities and demonstrate leadership in improving teaching capability. The 2012 awardees are: Julia Plotts, assistant professor of clinical finance and business economics; Nandini Rajagopalan, Captain Henry Simonsen Chair in Strategic Entrepreneurship & professor of management and organization and K.R. Subramanyam, KPMG Foundation professor of accounting, director of Marshall’s Ph.D. Program.

Dean’s Award for Research Excellence
The Award for Research Excellence honors faculty members whose research meets the research highest aspirations of the school and university. The 2012 awardees are: Nathanael Fast, assistant professor of management and organization; Ramandeep Randhawa, associate professor of information and operations management and Scott Wiltermuth, assistant professor of management and organization.

Dean’s Award for Community
Dean’s Awards for Community are granted to faculty members who have risen above the call of duty to make Marshall a better place. This year’s honorees are Kristin Diehl, associate professor of marketing and Anthony Marino, chair of the Department of Finance and Business Economics and professor of finance and business economics.

About the USC Marshall School of Business
Consistently ranked among the nation's premier schools, USC Marshall is internationally recognized for its emphasis on entrepreneurship and innovation, social responsibility and path-breaking research. Located in the heart of Los Angeles, one of the world's leading business centers and the U.S. gateway to the Pacific Rim, Marshall offers its 5,700-plus undergraduate and graduate students a unique world view and impressive global experiential opportunities. With an alumni community spanning 123 countries, USC Marshall students join a worldwide community of thought leaders who are redefining the way business works.