University of Southern California

Undergraduates to Receive Community Service Awards
Awards Recognize Students who have Given Back to the Community
May 9, 2011 • by News at Marshall

Two USC Marshall students will receive the highest honor bestowed on graduating seniors in a ceremony on May 12 in Bovard Auditorium.

Less than one percent of USC's graduating class receive the Order of the Laurel and the Palm, which recognizes exemplary leadership and excellent scholarship. This year the Marshall recipients are seniors James Hwang and Ivan Whittey.

The Order of the Laurel and the Palm, according to Marshall's Associate Dean of Undergraduate Programs Kim West, honors the "most involved people; students who have given back to this community in significant ways, whether it is to Marshall, USC or the surrounding neighborhood."

Among other achievements, James Hwang was executive director of the Trojan Investing Society Investment Banking Mentorship Program and Ivan Whittey was a member of the Trojan Consulting Group, which works with nonprofit organizations to improve their business models.

Additionally, 38 Marshall students will be awarded the Order of Troy at the May 12 ceremony "for demonstrating extraordinary service and commitment to USC's campus and community" while maintaining a 3.0 or higher grade point average.

"These students were nominated by Marshall faculty and staff and then chosen by a committee that included representatives from all over campus," said West, who played a coordinating role for the nomination process at Marshall and also served on the university-wide awards committee led by the USC Student Affairs Division.

"Overall there were more nominations this year for all of these awards," she added, noting that working on the final selection process "gives you a perspective on your own students when you see what others are doing. This is a great list of names and honors those students who have given so much of their time to Marshall and USC. I am both proud of them and also hate to see them graduate."

This year's Order of Troy honorees from USC Marshall are: Jonathan Bjorndahl, Hillary Buckner, Timothy Carreon, Tiffany Chan, David (Young-Jung) Cho, Thomas Cutting, Ada Del Rosso, Nathan Doctor, Joshua Friedman, Ryan Friedman, Sarah Friedman, Michael Gawlik, Claire George, Angie Gonzalez, Steven Haugen, Kavinee Hui, Jenny Jao, Harrison Kreiss, Justin Lacey, Tracy Lawrence, Victoria Luk, Nikunj Mistry, Kathleen Nakamura, Hersh Narayan, Yewande Odetunde, Moses Ogbonnaya, Erin Parker, Lauren Paz, Laura Redfern, Brian Rowse, Mamta Shah, Talia Shtein, Tirsa St. Fort, Stephanie Tong, Brian Tung, Troy YuMing Wan, Tiffanie Wu, Vincent Wu.

About the USC Marshall School of Business
Consistently ranked among the nation's premier schools, USC Marshall is internationally recognized for its emphasis on entrepreneurship and innovation, social responsibility and path-breaking research. Located in the heart of Los Angeles, one of the world's leading business centers and the U.S. gateway to the Pacific Rim, Marshall offers its 5,700-plus undergraduate and graduate students a unique world view and impressive global experiential opportunities. With an alumni community spanning 123 countries, USC Marshall students join a worldwide community of thought leaders who are redefining the way business works.